National Bank World Elite Mastercard

National Bank World Elite Mastercard

Reviewed by Jen, founder of MoneyMint · Updated September 25, 2026

National Bank World Elite Mastercard
National Bank of CanadaPremium Travel Card

National Bank World Elite Mastercard

Our take: strongest for groceries and dining — about 4.5% back in value (est.) for $150 a year, with no welcome bonus currently on offer.

#7 Groceries#4 Restaurants

No current welcome offer — the last promotion ended June 29, 2026 (checked Sept 10, 2026)
Apply on National Bank’s site →

  • Goes straight to National Bank
  • Our review

The National Bank World Elite Mastercard is National Bank of Canada’s top-tier personal rewards card, pairing strong grocery-and-dining earn rates with a sizeable travel-insurance package, free lounge access at Montréal-Trudeau, and an annual travel-expense credit. It carries a $150 annual fee and a comparatively high income bar ($80,000 individually or $150,000 household). One important flag: the welcome offer shown on National Bank’s own product page appears to have already expired, and the bank’s dedicated promotions page does not currently list any active World Elite offer — so don’t count on a signup bonus without confirming directly with National Bank first.

3.9out of 5

MoneyMint rating

#12 of 30 travel rewards cards · How we rate

Rewards value
5/10
Insurance
10/10
Flexibility
8/10
Welcome bonus
4/10
Fee value
10/10
Perks
6/10

≈ $352

estimated first-year value after the annual fee, on a typical $2,050/month budget. Points are converted to dollars using MoneyMint’s own valuations — see our points value calculator for how each program is valued. See it for your spending →

At a Glance

Annual Fee

$150/yr$50/yr per supplementary card

Foreign Transaction Fee

2.50%standard for the Canadian market

Income Requirement

$80,000 individualor $150,000 household

Suggested Credit Profile

Not disclosedno minimum credit score published by National Bank

Rewards

~4.5%on groceries (est. value)

Purchase APR 20.99% · Cash Advance APR 22.49%

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • 5 points per $1 on groceries and restaurants, on the first $2,500 in combined monthly spend
  • 2 points per $1 on gas/EV charging, recurring bill payments, and “À la carte Travel” purchases
  • Up to $150/year in travel-expense reimbursement (parking, baggage, seat selection, lounge fees, Wi-Fi, upgrades)
  • Free, unlimited access (with a guest and children 12 and under) to the National Bank Lounge at Montréal-Trudeau (YUL)
  • Broad travel insurance package, including up to $5,000,000 in emergency medical coverage
  • Triples the manufacturer’s warranty on eligible purchases, up to 2 additional years
  • One free eSIM per year via FlexiRoam for travel connectivity

Cons

  • No current welcome offer found as of the research date (National Bank’s own promotions page lists none for this card)
  • $150 annual fee, plus $50 per supplementary card
  • High income eligibility bar ($80,000 individual / $150,000 household)
  • Base earn rate is only 1 point per $1 outside bonus categories
  • Global DragonPass lounge network (1,300+ airports) is pay-per-visit ($32 USD), not free, and draws from the same $150/year travel-reimbursement cap
  • Emergency medical travel insurance provides no coverage at all for travelers aged 76 or older
  • No published minimum credit score, and no dedicated concierge service identified

Rewards & Earn Rates

Groceries & restaurants5 pts/$1on the first $2,500 in combined monthly spend; 2 pts/$1 after that
Gas & EV charging2 pts/$1
Recurring bill payments2 pts/$1
“À la carte Travel” purchases2 pts/$1
All other purchases1 pt/$1
Redemption value~100 pts ≈ $1via the “À la carte Travel” option (10,000 pts = $100 travel discount); minimum 6,250 pts to redeem toward a card balance; points can also go to gift cards, merchandise, or RRSP/TFSA contributions
Points expire if the account has no activity for 12 months or more; National Bank sends a notice 30 to 60 days before they expire (À la carte Rewards Plan terms, April 2025).

Perks & Benefits

Airport lounge accessFree & unlimited at YULNational Bank Lounge at Montréal-Trudeau, plus a guest and children 12 and under; separately, 1,300+ lounges worldwide are accessible pay-per-visit ($32 USD) via Mastercard Travel Pass by DragonPass — these are two distinct benefits, not a contradiction, but confirm both are current before relying on either
Annual travel creditUp to $150/yrcovers parking, baggage fees, seat selection, DragonPass lounge charges, in-flight Wi-Fi, and upgrades; claim within 60 days
Emergency medical insuranceUp to $5,000,000/triptrip length covered shrinks with age: 60 days under 55, 31 days 55–64, 15 days 65–75, and no coverage at all age 76+
Trip cancellation/interruptionUp to $2,500 / $5,000plus a $500 sub-limit for departure-delay subsistence expenses
Baggage insuranceUp to $1,000$500 sub-limit for delayed baggage; $250 max per item for loss/damage/theft
Purchase protection180 dayslifetime maximum $60,000 per account
Extended warrantyTriplesup to 2 additional years, per this card’s insurance certificate (ref. 32041-002). The “doubles” figure that appears in some National Bank material is the ECHO card’s benefit, not this one’s.
Mobile device insuranceUp to $1,000device or plan must be paid in full with the card or points to qualify
Other perksFree annual eSIMvia FlexiRoam; plus cashback at select merchants abroad through Mastercard Travel Rewards

Who It’s For

Best for

  • High earners ($80,000+ individually or $150,000+ household) who spend heavily on groceries and dining
  • Frequent Montréal-Trudeau flyers who’ll actually use the free proprietary lounge
  • Travelers who want a bundled, comprehensive travel-insurance package

Not ideal for

  • Applicants who don’t meet the income requirement
  • Anyone applying specifically for a signup bonus — none is currently confirmed active
  • Travelers aged 76 or older, who get zero emergency medical coverage under this card
  • Big spenders outside the bonus categories, where the 1 point/$1 base rate is unremarkable
IssuerNational Bank of Canada
Annual fee$150/yr
Welcome bonusNone currently confirmed
Foreign transaction fee2.50%
MoneyMint rating3.9 / 5

Apply on National Bank’s site →

This link goes directly to National Bank’s official page. MoneyMint doesn’t currently have a paid partnership for this card, so this isn’t a monetized recommendation.

+ Compare with other cards

Not Sure? Three Cards People Compare It With

All everyday spending cards →

American Express Cobalt Card

American Express Cobalt Card

Pick this instead if most of your spending is groceries (~8.5% est.).

Fee $192Rating 4.8 ★Bonus $255

Read review

CIBC Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card

CIBC Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card

Pick this instead if you want a bigger welcome bonus (~$1,000 est.).

Fee $139Rating 4.6 ★Bonus $1,000

Read review

Scotiabank Gold American Express Card

Scotiabank Gold American Express Card

Pick this instead if you spend abroad — it has no foreign transaction fee.

Fee $120Rating 4.7 ★Bonus $500

Read review

3.9MoneyMint rating

National Bank World Elite Mastercard

Best for groceries and dining · $150/year

Apply on National Bank’s site →Find a better fit

J

Jen, founder of MoneyMint

Reviewed by Jen. Every figure on this page was checked against National Bank’s official card page on September 25, 2026. Key figures were re-checked on September 25, 2026. How we rate cards →

This is general information, not personalized financial advice — consider your own spending habits and consult a professional for decisions specific to your situation. Rates, fees, and offers are set by National Bank of Canada and can change without notice; always confirm current terms, including whether a welcome offer is currently available, on the issuer’s official page before applying.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the annual fee for the National Bank World Elite Mastercard?

The National Bank World Elite Mastercard has an annual fee of $150/year ($50/year per supplementary card).

What is the rewards rate on the National Bank World Elite Mastercard?

The National Bank World Elite Mastercard offers: 5 points per $1 on groceries and restaurants, on the first $2,500 in combined monthly purchases in these categories (2 points/$1 above that monthly cap); 2 points per $1 on gas/EV charging; 2 points per $1 on recurring bill payments; 2 points per $1 on "a la carte Travel" purchases; 1 point per $1 on all other eligible purchases. Redemption: ~100 points = $1 in travel value via the "a la carte Travel" option (10,000 pts = $100 travel discount); minimum 6,250 points to redeem toward a card balance; points can also go to gift cards, merchandise, or RRSP/TFSA contributions. Points expire after 12 months with no account activity, and National Bank sends a notice 30 to 60 days beforehand.

Does the National Bank World Elite Mastercard have a welcome bonus?

Not right now. National Bank’s World Elite Mastercard page lists its last points promotion as ended (checked September 25, 2026). Check the page for new offers before you apply.

What credit score do I need to qualify for the National Bank World Elite Mastercard?

Generally, you’ll want an excellent credit score to be considered for the National Bank World Elite Mastercard. Approval also depends on income and overall credit history, not credit score alone.

Does the National Bank World Elite Mastercard charge foreign transaction fees?

2.50% (confirmed in the official information-box/rates-and-fees PDF; not stated on the marketing product page itself)